Thursday, June 25, 2009

Arrival into Lima

Guess who forgot to look up some key words to know in Spanish?! the French and Bangla keep coming to mind but...
After a day of sleeping because I did not sleep on the flight and arrived at 4am, I got up and decided to eat lunch. Thank God for Taco Bell...no I didn't eat there, instead I found a place across the street that had a little outdoor patio on the second floor without any english on the menu. Thanks to living in Texas I think, I knew pollo and knew to stay away from pescado (fish). But I couldn't figure out what to say to order it until...Yo Quiero Taco Bell...so Yo quiero pollo y ensalata. Apparently my Spanish is so good, he rambled off something to me very fast asking me which salad...uh..."no comprendes." I shrugged my shoulders, he laughed and then brought out a salad with half an avocado sliced on it - it was fantastico! Just a grilled pollo breast but very tasty and satisfying...and all for nueve soles...$3.

Next day, today, without breakfast again because seriously cant make it down there in time, set out to look for the indian market. Very interesting but much like any other 3rd world market. Lots of the same things...all very colourful.

Then onto an ancient ceremonial site pyramid style. Would have been horribly boring except I got a free tour. See the pictures for more info.

Now back at El Patio and will probably go across the street to eat at...ta da...LAS TEJAS! They better have chips and hot sauce!!