a.k.a. Peru
There is quite a difference between Peru and Chile. Unfortunately, my descriptions are based completely on background knowledge. Aspects of Peru really reminded me of Dhaka...the dirty dusty streets, shops with iron bar window fronts, buildings that look like they have been bombed out but really they are just not finished yet, the hawkers in the street, the undeveloped roads...and even in Lima...squatty potties!! Yet, there is beauty in the grandeur of the Spanish conquistador influenced palatial architecture and also in the amazingly technologically advanced Inka past. And smack in the middle of all of it....everyone making out...record setting kissing everywhere...on the stairs in the Plaza des Armes...in front of Cathedrals. Seriously it is everywhere...latin passion...I guess.
Then there is this very annoying, persistent, and omni-present...badeep badeep. Remember way back when, when cell phones first came on the scene? Not the suitcase cell phones but the...walkie talkie phones...NEXTEL...uuugghhh...I think it is the only mobile service available and the entire population of Peru has a Nextel phone...badeep badeep badeep badeep OLA!!
Then there is...the U.S....I mean Chile...incredible infrastructure, American type malls fully Starbucked out, subway system...and worst of all...American type prices...no no the worst thing of all is...even though they apparently have everything else that is in the US...they do NOT have the ONE thing I need!!! A charger for my camera battery that I left plugged in back in Texas - aarrgghhh. They even sell the blasted fancy camera I have but they do not sell just the charger!!! So plan B...find a professional photographer who surely has a Canon EOS series and borrow his charger...lets hope this plan works especially since...
Kim and I are about to embark on a questionable adventure...yes another boat trip...Liz feared it so much she has already fled 0onto Canada! We are taking an overnight bus ride to Puerto Montt...where we will take not-quite-a-cruise but also not a falucca...no worries, I have confirmed that they do have toilets...good thing since "stopping at nice place for you" would be the complete opposite of Egypt since we are going to see Glaciers!!! Which means freezing weather...and this pancho better keep me warm...somehow I have my doubts. Stay tuned for more in about 4 days...unless my computer freezes..or worse...my fingers fall off and I am unable to peck out my blog with a pencil held in my mouth.
Friday, July 10, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Maybe this cruise will be too cold for rats....
ReplyDeleteso it's cold? I just saw Liz's pics. It was NEAT to have your stories (and Kim's) to compare them to! I hope you find a charger. STAY SAFE you crazy Texan. - Annabel
ReplyDelete