Sunday, July 12, 2009

Mi Pancho no es sub zero, es no bueno

So......after a very comfortable (not sacracstic) 13 hour bus ride two nights ago, Kim and I arrived into Puerto Montt at 840 a.m...yesterday...yes yesterday. We knew we couldn't board the boat until at least noon but we thought the offices would have at least been open. The taxi drives us to NaviMag and there is NO ONE around except the security guard and the offices dont abierto until 11a.m. We still have to buy our tickets!! The security guard tells the taxi driver we can wait in the embarkation room...shack...waiting area...shack with no heat yet fully equipped with easily 200 yanked-out-of-a-bus seats and obviously very very old.

We are greeted by El Gato Gigantico. He stares at me and then proceeds to hop up onto the seat directly behind me...out of over 200 other seats. Its too cold for allergies, so I should be ok.

An hour passes and still we see no one...and did I mention that we haven't seen a boat either. This boat has only recently added passengers to its venue, normally it just ships cargo...so like I said earlier, it is not a cruise ship. According to Lonely Planet there may be a chance it is shipping dead cows and might smell...yet we are willing to chance this is not one of those shipments.

2 hours pass and...a British couple shows up! Yippee!! They have their tickets already purchased in the last city they were in. We are very relieved we are in the right shack...place. They live in Quito, Equador and teach in a British school. The guy goes to scope things out...it had already started to rain earlier when Kim decided to go scope things out but she came back in.

He comes back and tells us some guy told him there is no boat today...manana. I asked if it was the sales office person that doesn't open for another 10 minutes...he said no. We all choose to believe this guy doesnt know what he is talking about.

Well...we all chose wrong. The ship is stuck in Puerto Natales (our end point) due to choppy weather and it wont be in until tomorrow before it gets back and takes off back to Puerto Natales. Great...we were suppose to get into Puerto Natales then take a 3 hour bus ride to Punto Arenas and then fly out of Punto Arenas back to Santiago so we can catch our 7 hour bus to Mendoza Argentina...are yall following along on a map...get one out people or a globe at least...yes a globe would be better.

We cannot risk staying in Puerto Montt night and then having the ship still not show so...we can either catch a 36, yes thirty-six, hour bus ride to Punto Arenas or fly. You guess which one.

We are now sitting in an absolutely divine place called Chocolatta...in Punto Arenas, oddly enough listening to a Tim McGraw song...kinda weird at the bottom of the world listening to country music...drinking the most fabuloso hot chocolate, it came out as a fancy glass of hot milk and chunks of chocolate I had to add to it and stir, this is the real stuff...and we are watching the snow fall...yes snow...I've told Kim I am staying in here all day...at the moment I think she thinks I am joking....heelllooo I got a pancho and it wasnt made by North Face either!!



Sorry but I am now having problems posting new pictures, hopefully I can fix this sometime today...in Chocolatte:)

1 comment:

  1. Gracias, amiga mia!! So sorry I have not kept in touch. Sandra and Allan's wedding; the family reunion, etc., etc. All wonderful. Monday 13th I go to Boulder for my workshop then I go visit LU in Arizona. Back to ABQ by 20th. Buen viaje and Take care!! Carolyn

    ReplyDelete